Summer Of Hip Being Realigned!

“I got my first real hip pain,
Running on the street outside.
Waited for the doc a long while,
He said I needed to get my hip realigned.

Oh when I look back now,
Early recovery seemed to last forever.
Now two surgeries on,
I’ve found that I’m getting better.

Now for the best days of my life… Oh yeah, doing rehab so my hip can realign!”

If you have just made it through my terrible spin off lyrics to the tune of Bryan Adams Summer of 69, kudos to you (and those of you who didn’t pick it up will go back and real it all again singing). I give more points to those of you who sung it out loud đŸ™‚

With physio and hydrotherapy I’ve slowly been able to get my life back. In the past two weeks I have been to two engagement parties (manoeuvring around on crutches like a boss) and gone out with friends for drinks. I can sit long enough to last in a movie cinema chair, and I am able to ride longer on an exercise bike. Booya!!!

20130218-175405.jpg

I am going slightly mad still as I spend most days in the house. My biggest gripe with this solo housebound life lately is the “almost” feeling.

I’m almost able to
-drive my car.
-cook without relying on kitchen benches to hold me up.
-bend over and pick up items I drop.
-shower without the special chair
-do housework
-deal with escalators (man they move fast!!!).
-play my drum kit.
-not have to lie down at least four times a day.

-walk.

Almost able to walk. Having to rely on only one of these crutches is such a tease!

So I’ve booked myself into the retirement village. I figure that buying a walking stick must make me eligible for early retirement right??

20130218-175309.jpg

Wrong.

I go back to work in two weeks.

“Standing on my back porch,
Thinking six more weeks until I’m not an invalid.
And when I was just getting used to the couch,
I’m forced out of my early retirement.

I’ll get back to the best days of my life”

20130218-175210.jpg

Bryan Adams must be so jealous of my songwriting abilities :p

Tagged

Leave a comment